Skulduggery Pleasant (#2): Playing With Fire – Derek Landy

Standard

5 stars out of 5

I don’t know what it says about me, but for some reason I can relate more to the “bad guys” than the heroes. (With the exception of Vaurian Scapegrace. Christ, what an idiot!) I usually like them better, too. Especially Springheeled Jack. I mean, I could totally do without the killing-innocent-people thing, but both attitude- and humour-wise they’re really charming. (Yeah, I know, I’m weird. I’m reading a book about a skeleton detective. Are you really surprised?)
At least the straight-forward ones. I absolutely hate Thurid Guild and everybody from the so-called Sanctuary (ha!). Mostly because they’re arrogant, stupid, unreasonable and completely unable to actually listen. Plus, they think they know everything better. This combined with their other character traits makes them all utterly despicable.
The really evil ones (and the heroes, too, I suppose) chose a side, and chose it clearly. They don’t try to hide that fact or bully someone with “regulations” and “laws” and whatnot. They just want to kill you, and you always know where you stand with them. Those Sanctuary guys are slimy little weasels who got it all horribly wrong, but are too vain, dumb and/or rigid to admit their mistakes and learn from them. I really hate people like that.

Anyway.

A very good read. Again.

I still love Stephanie’s parents (especially her father), because they’re so decidedly normal, yet totally weird in an utterly adorable way. Sometimes I wish they knew what was going on with their daughter, sometimes I wish they’ll never find out.

Still no love stories. Yay!

The ending was a tad too dramatic for my liking, and I found the “Stephanie-saves-the-day”-thing a bit… irritating, but well. She is the main character. Still. I hope she won’t turn out to be yet another “Super-Mercy”, like the main character in a different book series. Let’s see.

***SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS***

I’m curious about the consequences of shooting Stephanie’s reflection. I mean, yes, the reflection isn’t suppose to feel things, but it had been made very clear that, since Stephanie uses it every day, it seemed to have changed quite a bit. Like, gaining more self-awareness, leading an independent life, parallel to Stephanie’s, or the “memory transfer” that’s not complete. Sure, there are maybe about a few seconds missing, but it’s still not like it should be. And, of course, since Stephanie is Stephanie she doesn’t tell anyone about it, but I really think this reflection business will come back to bite her in the arse. Big time.

Leave a Reply

